ScheduleSpeakersCE CoursesPapersPostersLightning Talks
RegistrationScholarships
About StauntonHospitality
This is the "Lightning Talks" page of the "2017 Annual Meeting" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

2017 Annual Meeting  

Last Updated: Sep 25, 2017 URL: http://macmla.libguides.com/MAC2017 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Lightning Talks Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Lightning Talks

Sunday the 22nd
4:45 PM-5:30 PM
Salon A & B

4:45-4:51
Holding Out for a HERO: Facing Your Fear of Implementing a Cross-Consortium EBSCO Discovery Service
Christina Manzo, MLIS

(abstract)

4:51-4:57
Dreaming up a New Poster Printing Service: One Library's Experience
Everly Brown

(abstract)

4:57-5:03
Books + Donuts: Engaging Faculty in Collection Review
Lara Sapp, Carolyn Schubert, Kelly Giles, Emma Oxford

(abstract)

5:03-5:09
Connection for Cowards
Jane Moran

(abstract)

5:09-5:15
Resistance to fear: transitional change for the 21st century library
Abbey E. Heflin, MSLIS & Dave Stoops, M. Ed

(abstract)

5:15-5:21
Prioritizing Cancer Researchers' PubMed Training Needs
Megan N. Fratta, Associate Fellow, National Library of Medicine

(abstract)

5:21-5:30
Q & A

 

#1 4:45-4:51

Holding Out for a HERO: Facing Your Fear of Implementing a Cross-Consortium EBSCO Discovery Service
Christina Manzo, MLIS

Background: As part of efforts to improve user’s online experience with the Jefferson College of Health Sciences Library, the staff recently introduced an EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS). The resource, which was named HERO (Health & Education Research Online), was made available to students, faculty, and staff on September 19, 2016. Five months after the launch of HERO, a survey was distributed to gain insight into the use of the resource, any discernible usage patterns, and any potential predictors of continued, habitual use of the product. Additionally, this survey will serve as the foundation for future research into the overall usability and adoption of the EBSCO Discovery Service in an academic environment.

Methods: The 11-question survey was distributed to students, faculty, and staff via two school-wide emails, posts on the library’s Facebook page, distribution of paper surveys throughout the campus, and a custom link appearing below the link to the EDS.

The questions were designed to determine:

a.) how often students were using HERO,

b.) how they were using HERO,

c.) how they would rate their experience with HERO and its resources,

d.) what possible changes could be made to make HERO more conducive to habitual use,

e.) any relevant demographic information that might influence usage patterns.

The survey was kept open for one month and received a total of 264 responses, 242 of which were from students for a response rate of 22%.

Results: Our data shows that the 52% of respondents had used HERO. Students were very satisfied with HERO and its ability to find relevant resources. A calculated 73% of students rated their overall experience as “very good” or “excellent” and ranked their satisfaction with HERO’s resources as “very satisfied” or “extremely satisfied.”

In order to look into usage patterns, survey respondents were then divided into three groups:

1. Non-users: students that had never used HERO,

2. Sporadic users: students that had used HERO one through five times, and

3. Continuous users: students that had used HERO six or more times.

Most respondents that were users fell into the category of Sporadic (69%); however, the Continuous user group (31%) did occupy a more significant portion of users than previously thought.

We saw that 66% of all survey respondents who were Continuous users were master-level graduate students, aged 18 to 30. Sporadic users, however, were most likely to be undergraduate students between the ages of 18 and 24 at a rate of 77%.

Conclusion: Current research suggests that our students:

a. are very satisfied with HERO and its ability to find quality resources,

b. are more likely to use HERO after attendance of a live demonstration,

c. are most likely to sporadically use HERO at the bachelor level,

d. are most likely to continuously use HERO at the master level,

e. use HERO to find specific resources or start research,

This survey was a first step in a larger effort to enhance the user’s overall online  experience. These results are a promising start, showing not only willingness to adopt the resource but also positive associations with HERO and its resources.

Our future research, which will be conducted in the fall semester of 2017, will build on our current findings by further examining any potential predictors of continued use, habitual use, as well as mapping our place in traditional adoption and usage maps, such as those put forward by Roger, Davis, Bagozzie and Warshaw

(back to lightning talks)

 

#2 4:51-4:57

Dreaming up a New Poster Printing Service: One Library's Experience
Everly Brown

Background: Seeing a need to provide poster printing services to campus users for professional and educational purposes, the Information Services department management team at a university’s health sciences library investigated and designed a new poster printing service.

Methods: The Information Services management team, along with the library’s IT department, investigated possible locations for the poster printer, created policies and procedures, and developed a submission form and back end administration portal for poster printing. The administration portal is highly automated; it allows library staff to easily identify what is being printed, notifies users when their print jobs are completed, and sends out a satisfaction survey to those who use the service. This process allowed us to help develop a work flow for printing. It was determined staff at the library’s Information Services desk would print posters, as well as assist library patrons with the new service as needed.  A subject guide that includes information about the service as well as guidance on how to format posters was created. A pricing model was established that is for cost recovery only.

Results: The poster printing service was launched in July 2016. The printer was put in the library’s innovation space which already featured 3D printing and is highly visible on the library’s first floor. In the first 11 months of the service, 622 posters were delivered. Around 70% of these posters were for conference presentations with others for printed for class assignments and assorted projects. The service was used by all schools on campus with the majority of users coming from the schools of nursing and pharmacy. Satisfaction surveys indicated that most users are highly satisfied with the promptness of the poster printing and poster quality.

Conclusion: While the poster printing service is relatively new, users seem quite pleased with it. The information services staff is tracking times of heavy use in order to anticipate future work flow and staffing needs to support the service.  Based on feedback from the satisfaction survey, we will next investigate professional tools that can be used to cut posters printed smaller than our recommended dimensions, and providing cardboard carrying tubes. We will also start offering a Perfecting your Poster Presentation to assist users with designing posters.

(back to lightning talks)

 

#3 4:57-5:03

Books + Donuts: Engaging Faculty in Collection Review
Lara Sapp, Carolyn Schubert, Kelly Giles, Emma Oxford

Background: This presentation describes a novel method of engaging faculty in the review of book collections in the health sciences and sciences. Evidence suggests that “due to their subject expertise, faculty tended to pull more books for withdrawal than the librarians and also offered opinions on where more books were needed to fill gaps in the collection” (Dubicki, 2008, p. 134). Health sciences and science librarians offered in-person events for faculty that allowed for real-time feedback and engagement with the book collection.

Objectives of this project were:

·         Increase faculty knowledge of existing book collection

·         Facilitate faculty identification of collection gaps based on evolving curriculum and programs

·         Reduce barriers for faculty participation in collection review process

Methods: Librarians reviewed the collection and provided faculty with an initial list of materials eligible for removal based mainly on circulation, age, and consortium holdings. Faculty were then invited to an event titled- We Have a Latte Books That We Donut Need. Coffee, tea and, of course, donuts were provided to encourage participation. The two events were scheduled on Friday mornings to best accommodate faculty teaching schedules. Faculty holistically assessed book collections based on their expertise and areas of interest. Librarians recorded the recommendations to document decisions for other units involved in the deselection process.

Results: The librarians were able to work collaboratively with the 26 faculty participants in strengthening the library’s collection of print materials. Participation from most departments within the college provided an excellent opportunity to identify books that are no longer relevant, find collection gaps, and facilitate discovery of resources pertinent to faculty research and pedagogy.

Conclusion: A collaborative approach to collection review can create a more relevant collection while strengthening liaison relationships with faculty.

(back to lightning talks)

 

#4 5:03-5:09

Connection for Cowards
Jane Moran

Background: Establishing relationships with new providers or faculty is crucial if librarians hope to promote their resources and services.  However, many librarians (though certainly by no means all librarians) are shy people.  How can a shy librarian make a meaningful “first contact” with new members of their organization without the anxiety and stress of a “cold call” introduction? And does such contact make a difference on the new person’s perception of and collaboration with the librarian?

Methods: An orientation to library services and resources was constructed in the form of a short survey.  The survey is distributed via an email link during the faculty member’s first several days of employment at an osteopathic medical school.  The librarian then uses the results of the survey to plan an individual orientation customized to the faculty member’s needs and desires and scheduled an appointment at the faculty member’s convenience.

Results: The orientation "survey" has been well-received and has helped to establish collaborative and supportive relationships with new faculty.

Conclusion: The use of the survey has proved to be a helpful “ice breaker” which makes it easier for the librarian to ensure that he or she is introducing the information the faculty member needs most critically in a format that respects the faculty member’s time.   Making contact during the first several days “before the new person has become very busy” establishes an important foundation for future communication and collaboration.

(back to lightning talks)

 

#5 5:09-5:15

Resistance to fear: transitional change for the 21st century library
Abbey E. Heflin, MSLIS & Dave Stoops, M. Ed

Background: The Claude Moore Health Sciences Library has been very successful at circulating equipment to the Medical School and Medical Center. Items that we circulate include laptops, cameras, tripods, iPads, headphones, adapters, Apple TV’s, projectors and more.  The equipment check-out process previously consisted of several paper forms that needed to be filled out by staff resulting in long wait times for patrons checking out items and insufficient reporting.

Because of this inefficient system, we encountered many instances when paperwork was not filled out, items had been double booked by staff, items had not been checked in/out, and equipment had gone missing. This is mainly due to the fact that we were using an unreliable and unsupported self-reservation system combined with relying on staff to accurately fill out several pieces of paper while still providing a great patron experience.

Methods: In an effort to streamline this process for staff and provide a better patron experience, we removed all of our equipment from the ILS and OPAC and transferred it to Springshare LibCal Equipment Reservation system. Many people questioned this because it meant that we would remove equipment items from the ILS.  But we truly believed that this change would provide a better patron experience and allow us to make our items more discoverable. In doing so, we are frontiering how libraries will operate in the 21st century!

We went live with this change July 1st 2017. In order to give this the best possible chance of being successful, we have created a LibGuide dedicated to explain to the patron how to use the system. We have also created training videos for patrons, as well as for staff to learn the new way of checking items in and out.

Results: We immediately noticed that it took less time for service desk staff to help patrons needing to pick up reserved items. We also noticed there was much less paper being used since everything was available on the LibCal module. We also have received positive feedback from patrons about how nice the system looks and how easy it is to use. Staff and Librarians at the Health Sciences Library have also given positive feedback on the new system.

Difficulties we have encountered are getting service desk staff trained properly. Although there has been no pushback, it has taken the staff some time to get used to the new process. We also found that we lost our ability to see who checked an item out to a patron. However, we found a “Notes” field within the checkout system that staff are now entering their initials into when the check and item in or out.

Conclusions: Overall, switching to the LibCal self-reservation system has been a success. Our patrons have been very pleased with the new system as well as librarians and staff. We now are able to track our equipment reservations more efficiently and are able to get better statistics on usage. Most importantly, although these items are not in our OPAC, they are now more discoverable to our patrons.

(back to lightning talks)

 

#6 5:15-5:21

Prioritizing Cancer Researchers' PubMed Training Needs
Megan N. Fratta, Associate Fellow, National Library of Medicine

Background: Medical libraries serve many different user groups who have a variety of research experiences and information needs. The National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) PubMed Trainers provide training for these groups through understanding the top tasks they complete in PubMed. The goal of this project is to gain a better understanding of the searching skills and information needs of one of PubMed’s high-priority user groups, cancer researchers, to identify training priorities for this group. The project will also develop a scalable needs assessment model that can be adapted to learn about other user groups.

Methods: To gain insight into cancer researchers’ information behavior and research needs, an Associate Fellow reviewed the literature and conducted informal interviews with six librarians who work with cancer researchers. Three focus groups were held with National Cancer Institute fellows and staff. Focus group data were analyzed to identify trends in information behavior, which informed a follow-up survey.  Additional methods will be explored and recommended as next steps.

Results: The focus groups and follow-up survey revealed that cancer researchers often use PubMed to search for specific citations, authors, and to find out what research has already been done on a topic. Overall, this group of researchers is moderately to highly confident in their PubMed searching skills, but there is a gap between their skills and the importance of searching skills to their work.

Conclusions: Based on the focus group and survey results, the Associate identified three top tasks and three challenges this group has when searching PubMed. Each top task and challenge is associated with suggested learning objectives that can be used to guide PubMed training that is relevant to this group.

(back to lightning talks)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip